BODIDRIS SHOOT – TESTIMONIALS
Provided by our clients, as seen on gunsonpegs.com

 

Reviewer:  Mr Stephen Ellis I have shot at Bodidris on a number of occasions as a single gun and always had a great day. This year I decided to book a full day and bring my own team. The evening before the shoot I was a little nervous, having seen friends ribbed mercilessly for booking poor days elsewhere! I need not of worried, Dave put on an absolutely stonking day for us. The wind was blowing and the birds were superb, one drive produced some of the best birds any of the guns had seen this season with stunning 70 yard plus curlers. We finished the day on 213 birds, Dave informed me we had had 600+ shots with a couple of drives remaining. All the guns left with a smile on their face after a fantastic days sport, they have already asked me about re-booking for next season.
Added: January 2015
________

Reviewer:  Mr Dan Crick As a team, this was our first visit to Bodidris, and to a man everyone was really impressed! The quality of the shooting , the professionalism and friendliness of all concerned was a credit to Dave Rhodes and his team of keepers and beaters. The day was well paced with plenty of opportunity for everybody. Fantastic! Well done Dave, we’re really looking forward to our next day.
Added: December 2014
________

Reviewer:  Mr Simon Harrison Took a full team this week for a two hundred bird day …. And what a day we had !! Awsome!! From start to finish Dave Rhodes and his father and all the team put on the best days shooting we’ve ever had and I’ve been shooting thirty two years !! Some real testing birds for so early on!!! We ended on 202 !!! Keep up the hard work guys a credit to shooting you are thanks
Added: October 2014
________


Reviewer:  Mr Richard Sernberg
Having shot on the Bodidris shoot once before at the tail end of last season and only having a very limited window during which I had the opportunity to shoot this season I decided to take a Driven Duck day in September. I was not disappointed. The countryside is lovely, the shoot relaxed and welcoming, important for a single gun, and the day extremely well organised. Lots of Duck too and they flew well. Once again thank you for a good day and hopefully I will have the opportunity to shoot at Bodidris again in the near-ish future. Richard.
Added: October 2014
________

Reviewer:  Mr Nick Middlehurst This was my first walked up day at Bodidris Shoot on the beautiful Llandegla Moors. David and his team made a mixed group of guns very relaxed and ready for a good day’s walking. It was shirt sleeves weather and the moors looked stunning, the quarry red and black grouse, partridge and duck. The walking is not for the infirm but if you are up for it, the rewards are well worth the effort. The scenery is reward enough but the privilege of bagging a grouse or two is just the icing on the cake. I look forward to my next visit – great day!
Added: September 2014
________

Reviewer: Dr. Simon Denny Another great day at Bodidris. Great morning walked up grouse and partridge, then driven partridge and a fantastic flight of fast and high duck in the afternoon. Dave and his team very helpful in positioning guns and in looking after us. Good company and excellent value. A very enjoyable place to shoot with superb views over the moors.
Added: September 2014
________

Reviewer: Mr. David Follows As ever I was given plenty of days thorough out the season by my close friend, because of calendar clashes it was getting increasingly difficult to find them days back at any one of my syndicate days, thankfully I was looking over guns on pegs one day from a Facebook link and found Dave’s advertisement. I didn’t hesitate to call and book the day for my self and 9 friends, up on arrival we were made to feel right at home and had a thorough enjoyable day with good birds for so late in the season and an atmosphere that you wouldn’t of expected on such a large commercial shooting estate. It was like stepping out of my own back door for a days shooting at home with great friends and good company, I shall defiantly be booking a day next year!!!
Added: February 2014
________

Reviewer: Mr. Isaac Batley Having left it far too late too arrange some shooting on the last day of the season I thought I would chance my arm and have a look on guns on pegs……. I looked on my iPad during a train journey on Fri 31st Jan, saw availability at Bodidris for the following day and was lucky enough to end up shooting there on Sat 1st Feb!! I arrived as a single gun (slightly nervous) and was immediately made to feel very welcome and part of the gang. Dave and Jayde really know how to host and manage a fantastic shoot and I had an absolutely fabulous day and without doubt will be returning more than once next season. Edd and Paddy – I won’t embarrass you by revealing your identities but I was honoured to shoot with you both and really enjoyed your company. The countryside, company, hospitality and birds were outstanding. Dave – you are a very handsome man!!!!
Added: February 2014

________

Reviewer: Mr. Matthew Edvartsen Been to many a shoot where the birds have been plentiful but never been to one were you are made to feel most welcome. I joined the chaps at Bodidris shoot for one of the Clear-up days on Thursday 30th Jan and liked it so much i came back the next day for the duck shoot after Dave’s kind invitation. (personally I think he was just after my sweets) Dave, Jayde and even “mad mule driver” Kate did nothing but make the day a laugh and fun to finish off what has been a very wet season. The advice on cartridge and choke usage and lead for the, may i say, very challenging high birds was welcomed by Dave and I think it will make him a better shot for next year :o) but I jest! I am joining the walked up for next year because at the end of the day I think I am right is saying unless you are enjoying yourself the chaps at Bodidris are not happy. I mention only the 3 names I can remember however I would like to thank all the beaters, keepers, the nutter who jumped in the duck pond naked and the beater who got lost when taking us to the pegs for the second drive. See you end of the year and big thanks again.
Added: February 2014
________

Reviewer: Mr David Lewis Myself and my brother shot Bodidris on the 31 January 2014 and were immediately bowled over by the warmth and professionalism of Dave and his family/team. Great company, good food and the attention paid to each guest to equally spread out the shooting made the day for us. Unfortunately the weather was foul when we visited but the birds on the signature hall drive were first class high, fast and curling and will stick in my mind as some of the most challenging I have shot. This welcoming family run shoot is a gem based on traditional values and exemplifies all that is good about a modern high bird shoot.
Added: January 2014
________

Reviewer: Dr Simon Denny We had our first day at Bodidris on 31 January 2014. The hospitality shown by Dave and his wife, the friendliness of the guns and beaters, and the quality of the shooting were all superb. We were also very impressed by the care Dave took to ensure all guns had a good day out. The pheasants flew high and fast and the duck shooting was a very pleasant bonus. A great day and we look forward to the next time we go to Bodidris.
Added: January 2014
________

Reviewer:
Dr Darrel Jones
A massive thank you for not only an enjoyable days shooting but also socialising and being made to feel right at home in a warm and friendly environment. Fantastic high quality birds. The best testimonial that I could leave is that I will be returning again and again, thanks again Dave, family and team.
Added: January 2014
________

Reviewer: Mr David Gabriel My thanks to Dave, Dave snr and Jayde for a very enjoyable day’s shooting. This was my first visit to Bodidris and I was made to feel very welcome by Dave and his team and by the other guns, most of whom shoot here on a regular basis. The whole day was very efficiently and impressively organised and I very much look forward to returning next season.
Added: January 2014
________

Reviewer: Mr Andrew Farrimond We just keep going back super people lots of tall birds lovely country side always looked after very friendly.David and his family are always both friendly and professional
Added: January 2014
________

Reviewer: Sir Simon Harrison Took my syndicate today 25.01.14 and had a great days shooting, good banter all day with Dave senior well looked after by young Dave and his wife and had some quality shooting at the same time plenty of birds as well. If you haven’t shot here it’s a must, good high birds all day. Thank you very much. Simon and team
Added: January 2014
________

Reviewer:
Mr Rick Mills
I keep going back which says it all. I’ve taken our little syndicate there for both full and mini days or gone along on a mini day on my own. Which ever one it’s been the day has been superb. Dave and his lads are always friendly and the gorgeous Jade provides some excellent tuck. Watch out for Dave senior though, he pointed out far too many of my failings (Not all of them, mind, he didn’t have all day!) Only kidding; he takes it as well as giving it and he looks after the guns well with plenty of banter. I’ll be back again next season for a good few days
Added: January 2014
________

Reviewer: Mr Mark Carter This was my third visit to Bodidris having shot there twice this season both as a single gun & alongside friends. The reception & hospitality shown by David & his family is tremendous as is the shooting, with only a few day’s left of this season the birds where still plentiful & high the icing on the cake came from the sun, as it made it’s first appearance in Wales this year. A really enjoyable day, looking forward to my next visit..
Added: January 2014
________


Reviewer: Mr
Stephen Ellis
I have shot at Bodidris a few times in the last couple of seasons and just keeps improving. Dave and his team are always extremely friendly and efficient. There is a real attention to detail, with nice touches like greeting the beaters and pickers up and a clear briefing at the start of the day. Get another gun to do the driving as Jadye will always have your glass overflowing with sloe gin or champagne. The shoot always offers some great high birds and if you are booking as a single gun Dave Snr always does his best to ensure everybody gets decent pegs during the day.
Added: January 2014
________

Reviewer:  Mr Neil Jones First time I have ever been on a shoot and went as a single gun. Was made very welcome by David, his father and his wife, I would highly recommend to everyone. I am already looking for my next date to book with them. Fantastic I am now hooked
Added: January 2014
________

Reviewer: Mr Richard Semberg My first day shooting at Bodidris Shoot; and an excellent day it was. As an individual gun it can sometimes feel somewhat awkward but I was made to feel very welcome. The shoot was efficiently run but did not suffer from a feeling of being ‘too businesslike’. There were plenty of birds; challenging and well presented – it was unfortunate that my shooting did not do them justice… Hospitable, good value and well run, definitely one to visit again, thank you to David, David Snr and Jadye for a great day.
Added: January 2014
________


Reviewer: General Mckee
One of my most memorable days ever. I visit several shoots each season and Bodidris is always the highlight, which is why this season I chose this location to take my own guests and it didn’t disappoint. In the three years I have been visiting Bodidris it just gets better and better. Top marks to Dave Jnr, Snr and Jayde for providing another great days sport with strong flying birds, backed up by a great beating and picking up team. The Rhodes family team provides a shoot that unlike many other large commercial operations really does have the personal touch making the day so much more enjoyable. I would highly recommend Bodidris to anybody and look forward to returning again.
Added: January 2014
________

Reviewer: Mr John Gosmore It was are first time at Bodidris Shoot and it was very enjoyable! The birds were enough to challenge even an experienced shot. We enjoyed the that much that on the day we booked another days shooting! Even though the day was near the end of December there were still plenty of challenging birds to shoot at.
Added: December  2013
________

Reviewer: Mr Martin Grady Now in my second season of shooting at Bodidris, I have enjoyed many days there with challenging birds, carefully prepared and executed drives. A wonderful team of beaters and pickers up led admirably by David Snr and David Jnr. Top days, top shoot, top people!
Added: December  2013
________

Mr Bloodworth at Bodidris Shoot

Mr Bloodworth at Bodidris Shoot

Reviewer: Mr Richard Bloodworth I booked a 200 bird day back in May having met David for a shoot tour. On nov 28th weather overcast, no wind, not to worry David and his team supplied us with a fabulous days sport. Little moor and ski slopes amongst others produced great and memorable birds. David Jayde and David snr you gave us a complete day and we left with lots to talk about having had some fantastic sport. Bodidris is a great shoot. Highly recommended I look forward to returning.
Added: December  2013
________

Reviewer: Mr Ben Hickman Having been set the task of finding a 100 bird day for the roaming syndicate I am part of meant a lot of pressure to find a shoot that would provide quality birds but also a shoot where overage was not a constant worry with a small number of birds for the bag. I can safely say that David Junior and Senior more than addressed these requirements and planned the day excellently!!! The birds were sent over our heads at an even pace and challenging height – especially impressive considering the lack of wind on the day. I strongly recommend joining the Rhodes family in this lovely shoot – I only wish I could do it again tomorrow!
Added: November  2013
________

BODIDRIS-TMBW

Bob Walker enjoying his time at Bodidris Shoot

Reviewer: Mr Bob Walker
I was invited by a friend to join him at this shoot even though i am not a real fan of driven shooting due to mixed experiences on other shoots across the country. As an individual gun its always hard to slot in to a day but this shoot is totally different experience. From the very start when we met the beaters and pickers up (a real nice touch) to the last drive this shoot was run professionally and more importantly was so friendly i slotted right in and felt as if i had been there many times. The birds were a credit to the keepers and the feeding regime, nice fit fast high flying pheasants and soaring ducks, As a wildfowler my passion are ducks and it was magic to shoot fast high birds rather than low flying estuary birds. I achieved three goals today, i shot my highest flying duck, I shot my highest flying pheasant (first barrel on both so dead chuffed) and changed my opinion on driven day shooting. Our hosts were friendly and the banter came thick and fast, the drives were well managed and the picking up carried out efficiently and with some aplomb especially good to see a pricked bird of mine picked at some 300-400m from where it fell. So to sum up book this shoot with confidence, expect good conditioned birds, high flying pheasants, great ducks, skilled beaters, professional picking up and finally superb shoot management and some nice sandwiches at elevenses with a spot of bubbly. I shall be booking a return visit as soon as possible. Thank you all for a great day
Added: November  2013
________

Reviewer: Mr John Pritchard
I bought a 200 bird mixed day (duck and pheasant) at Bodidris on 23rd October. The birds flew well and there was not a single “dry” drive. The day was well organised and everyone was very friendly and welcoming. Jayde Rhodes provided a welcome glass of Champagne together with pork pies and Scotch Eggs during the morning and recorded the day with some interesting photographs! The countryside was quite stunning! I can thoroughly recommend the Shoot.
Added: November  2013
________

Reviewer: Mr Peter Wroe
A very fine day for the CABS Syndicate on Friday 25th October. We started with a mist shrouding the hills but it cleared swiftly to reveal some stunning scenery. We were restrained with the ducks picking only the highest or fastest to protect the bag a little and extend the day. The Farmwood drive was spectacular, high and fast over the line and crossers for the end guns. Overall a well beaten and balanced delivery of birds across the lines at each drive. On our day Dave (Snr) hosted and kept radio contact with Dave (Jnr) running the beaters and Jayde recorded the shooting with some quality photography of unposed images. Dave (Snr) identified our style of shooting and joined in our banter as between drives the observations of poor shots were merciless and hilarious between our group. Highly recommended.
Added: October  2013
________

Damien Murray at Bodidris Shoot

Damien Murray at Bodidris Shoot

Reviewer: Mr Damien Murray
Enjoyable, challenging, entertaining and lots of laughter! David and his team put on a superb professional days shooting whilst achieving the enviable atmosphere of a traditional house shoot. We have had many memorable days at Bodidris and look forward to many more to come!
Added: October 23 2013
________

Reviewer: Mr Paddy MacMullan
David Rhodes (Senior and Junior) should be incredibly proud of the work that they have put in at Bodidris. The day was flawless and fluid, despite the high winds Dave produced birds that challenged the best in the line. Dave and his team are welcoming and very professional who mould and produce a day to every part of the teams needs. If you are looking for extremely well presented birds, the warmest of welcomes and unforgettable scenery – Bodidris is the place for you. Many thanks to David (Senior and Jnr) and Jayde for a wonderful time, best of luck for the future….its only going to get better. Roll on 2014! Paddy MacMullen (Head of Advertising at GunsOnPegs)
Added: October 23 2013
________

Reviewer: Mr Edd Morrison
My first time to Bodidris Shoot and I loved it. It is very rare that you get such a nice relaxed atmosphere and yet a clinical and tightly run shoot. Our host’s for the day; David Rhodes (Snr) and Jayde Rhodes made all the guns very welcome! The weather wasn’t in our favour for some of the drives and it is still very early on on the season, but yet Dave still managed to wow all the guns with his presentation of the birds! The last drive was brilliant, stood in a ride with barrels too hot to hold, laughter and cheers all the way down the line as pheasants were plucked from the sky well above the tall pine trees where we were stood. I am dying to come back once the weather turns cold and the pheasants start really going into orbit! What a great day, thanks Dave for all your hard work and hospitality. Edd Morrison (Business Development Manager at GunsOnPegs)
Added: October 23 2013
________

Reviewer: Mr Stuart Middleton

Beating team

Mr Middleton says “a traditional family owned run shoot which is so friendly and relaxing that our syndicate come back year after year”

I am captain of a roving syndicate who have shot at Bodidris for many years. This is a traditional family owned run shoot which is so friendly and relaxing that our syndicate come back year after year. There is a real mixture of birds so appealing to all types of shots, whether they are novices looking to get a few in the bag or experienced hands looking for high birds or snap shooting, there’s something for everyone. The countryside around Bodidris is delightful, and there are a number eateries around that cater for all tastes. Bodidris can provide transport to pegs for those less able to get around. Highly recommended.
Added: February 14 2013
________

Reviewer: Mr Mark Carter
This was my first visit to Bodidris & my first day sourced via the GunsOnPegs website. As a single gun I was made to feel very welcome by Dave & the two groups who made up the rest of the party, both groups had shot at Bodidris before & said I was in for a treat, they were not wrong! A very, very well managed shoot despite the weathers best attempt to curtail the day by dumping several inches of snow over the estate the night before. I highly recommend Bodidris to everyone & hope to return next season.
Added: January 28 2013
________

Reviewer: Mr Stephen Ellis
I have had a mini driven and 100 bird day at Bodidris this year. Both were excellent days with good challenging high sport. The Ski Slopes in particular produced some spectacular birds. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly and Dave Rhodes (Head Keeper) and the rest of his team are all very approachable and helpful. The scenery at Bodidris is stunning and the topography is made for shooting. I will be booking again next season.
Added: December 3 2012
________

Reviewer: Mr Rick Mills
We were a group of four guns that joined an excellent mini driven day. Lovely setting, good birds and everyone was friendly. We did have a small niggle but I always judge service by the way that they respond to a problem. Bodidris shoot more than put things right. Highly recommended; we’ll certainly be back!
Added: November 29 2012
________

Reviewer: Mr Neal Fenna
Had an 80 bird day today and it was the first time our roving syndicate has shot here. Dave and his team put on a great day with consistently well presented, high birds. the day was well paced and all the guns had plenty of shooting. The landscape could have been made for shooting and all of the drives are easily accessible. We are going back in 4 weeks for another day and will certainly be booking some days there next year.
Added: November 14 2012
________

Reviewer: Mr Andrew Bird
We booked a mini-driven/walked up day, offered as a fun outing with no emphasis on numbers and that is exactly what we received. Great fun amongst like minded folk who made us feel most welcome. It was a beautiful day and the scenery looked spectacular. We would definitely return to Bodidris Shoot.
Added: January 30 2012
________

General McKee says “I enjoyed the day so much that I couldn’t wait until next season to visit again”

Reviewer: Mr Matthew McKee
I visited Bodidris as a single gun on the 15th Dec 11 for a mini-driven day. Dave Rhodes the Head Keeper was very welcoming and runs the shoot with military like planning and precision, thus ensuring that our day went smoothly and without hitch. The topography at Bodidris is extremely varied with numerous drives ensuring that the day was tailored to best suit the prevailing conditions. The beating and picking up teams performed throughout, presenting birds for all abilities off the drives and we finished the day with an excellent duck flight after a late lunch at the hall. For a such a large scale shoot, Dave and the rest of the team are still able to produce a relaxed, enjoyable day, with that friendly family feel to it. There was plenty of chat and banter amongst everybody and I enjoyed the day so much that I couldn’t wait until next season to visit again, so I joined the beating team for a day out a week later. I look forward to returning to Bodidris next season and would whole heartedly recommend this shoot to anyone.
Added: December 27 2011
________

Reviewer: Mr Peter Arrowsmith
I had expressed an interest in a mini driven day on this shoot but it was fully booked. However, when they had someone dropping out at short notice Dave gave me a ring and I was more than happy to jump in. I’d only shot walked up game once before and had never indulged myself in a driven day so this was a little outside of my usual rabbit and pigeon harvesting. Upon arriving at the venue (I have been to the hall for a friends wedding before and only live a few miles away so knew the layout) I was soon made to feel welcome, chatted to a couple of the beaters outside the hotel and then went in and met the rest of the gang, plenty of happy banter taking place over a breakfast with a great mixed crowd. I’m still reliving dropping the brace of *****s and the hen on the first drive, (Ski Slope), the first three birds to come over my peg 🙂 I just wish the rest of my shooting was up to that standard. All in all a very enjoyable and relaxed day and I will definitely be coming back. It was a fantastic introduction to driven shooting and the duck and pheasant cooked up a treat. .
Added: December 22 2011
________

Reviewer: Mr Howard Davies
I came to Bodidris with my father in law on the 15th December and had a very enjoyable day. Dave and his team made us feel very welcome. The day was well organised and relaxed. I would thoroughly recommend a visit, and hope that I will get back there too in the not too distant future!
Added: December 15 2011
________

Reviewer: Mr Martin McClean

Mr McClean says "a great family run shoot, highly recommended to anyone"

Mr McClean says “a great family run shoot, highly recommended to anyone”

Been to this shoot a number of times. It has a friendly atmosphere in great surroundings with stunning views. Good shooting for all abilities and Dave does a great job organising the day. The beaters and pickers up all do an excellent job. All in all a great family run shoot, highly recommended to anyone. You won’t be disappointed.
Added: December 12 2011
________

Reviewer: Mr Lewis Horrocks
Myself and our roving syndicate took a day on 3rd December at Bodidris Hall. We shoot regularly and I can say that the Bodidris Shoot is one of the best we have visited. The undulating topography produced truly admirable birds. Every drive had absolutely picturesque backdrops that made shooting at Bodidris even more enjoyable. Birds were driven from thick woodland and with the prominent wind on our shooting day the drives were arranged to achieve the best birds. The Tunner was a drive that sticks in my mind with birds sky high. Hall Drive was another that provided snap shooting through a heavy woodland canopy – it left the whole line smiling! Our team will more than definitely be back to shoot again, not just for the shooting but for the warm welcome from the whole Bodidris company!
Added: December 3 2011
________

Reviewer: Mr Richard Shadwell
We booked a day with Dave and his team on Saturday 3rd December , one of the best days shooting we’ve all had in a long time . We were well looked after from start to finish. Each drive presented a different challenge and he even laid on some off road driving events for us ! We will be back .
Added: December 3 2011
________

Reviewer: Mr Mark Evans
Had a wonderful and great day at Bodidris shoot, Dave and his gang were very friendly. Plenty of birds, good shooting and atmosphere.
Added: November 20 2011
________

Reviewer: Mr Glenn Evans
This is the second year we have visited the very relaxed and accommodating shoot at Bodidris and are already looking forward to our next. The setting is fantastic and hotel staff are very welcoming although we have only used it during the day. The shoot has a variety of settings and landscapes but it is very much the owner/keeper Mr Rhodes who really is the difference with his comfortable approach to proceedings. This is now very much a family run shoot with this son and son-in-law assisting. We wish the shoot all the very best for the future.
Added: November 15 2011
________

Reviewer: Mr David Arwel Edwards
A great day! The shoot is set in a beautiful location, is well run with birds and drives to suit all abilities.The meal and atmosphere at the end of the day was excellent. The keeper Dave and his team worked hard presenting quality sport and made great work picking up. If during your day you find yourself on peg 7 or 8 at ‘Hall Drive’ you’re in for a treat. I can thoroughly recommend Bodidris to everyone.
Added: November 11 2011
________